Persona 5 Royal and 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim Win Japan Game Awards ‘Future Division’ at Tokyo Game Show 2019


The annual Japan Game Awards ceremony took place at Tokyo Game Show 2019 this weekend, part of which is the “Future Division” awards.

The games eligible for the “Future Division” award are all pre-released games and hardware exhibited at Tokyo Game Show 2019, from September 12 to September 15, 2019.

The awards are voted by attendees who fill out a form at the TGS 2019 venue, with general voting accepted from September 12 to 14. One person can only cast one vote. Afterwards, the Japan Game Awards Selection Committee looked at the highly anticipated games and selected the ones with the best future prospects.

Two of the games which earned Future Division accolades at the Japan Game Awards were Persona 5 Royal and 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim, which were exhibited at the Sega / Atlus booth during the convention.

13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim

Director George Kamitani received his award on the stage.

Persona 5 Royal

Producer Kazuhisa Wada and character designer Shigenori Soejima received the award on the stage.

Recently, Persona 5 UI Designer Masayoshi Sutoh received a Visual Arts Award at the Computer Entertainment Developers Conference 2019.

All Japan Game Awards 2019 Achievements

Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Award

  • Super Smash Bros. Development Team

Game Designers Award Winner

  • Astro Bot: Rescue Mission

Games of the Year Division Award Winners

The official press release can be found here.

Grand Award

  • Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Award for Excellence

  • Apex Legends
  • Kingdom Hearts III
  • Judgment
  • Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
  • Super Smash Bros. Ultimate
  • Detroit: Become Human
  • Devil May Cry 5
  • Dragon Quest Builders 2
  • Biohazard Re: 2
  • Marvel’s Spider-Man
  • Megido72

Best Sales Award

  • Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Global Award Japanese Product

  • Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Global Award Foreigh Product

  • Red Dead Redemption 2

Special Award

  • Nintendo Labo

Amateur Division Awarded Games

Official page.

Grand Award


Award for Excellence

  • Overlay
  • Joushin Kikan Kikou
  • Seiza Drop

Honorable Mention

  • Asteroid
  • Connect Starline
  • PlutoMachina
  • HoshiPin
  • Hoshiventure

Future Division Award Winners

The official press release can be read here.

  • 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim (Atlus)
  • Atelier Ryza: Ever Darkness & the Secret Hideout (Koei Tecmo Games)
  • Cyberpunk 2077 (Spike Chunsoft)
  • Death Stranding (Sony Interactive Entertainment)
  • Dragon Quest XI S: Echose of an Elusive Age – Definitive Edition (Square Enix)
  • Final Fantasy VII Remake (Square Enix)
  • New Sakura Wars (Sega Games)
  • Nioh 2 (Koei Tecmo Games)
  • Persona 5 The Royal (Atlus)
  • Project Resistance (Capcom)
  • Yakuza: Like a Dragon (Sega Games)