Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey Redux Dated for October 26, 2017 Release in Japan, Live Stream on July 9th

The newest Shin Megami Tensei game for the Nintendo 3DS, SMT: Strange Journey Redux (called “Deep Strange Journey” in Japan) has been announced for an October 26, 2017 release date in Japan.

The upcoming issue of Weekly Famitsu magazine #1492 will include a 12-page, “Schwarzwelt Investigation Correspondence Report” booklet on this remake of the original 2009 RPG.

The feature will include a large number of art and screenshots for the game’s demons (including new illustrations), as well as characters, and more, who appear in the game.

Front and back cover of the 12-page booklet included in the newest Famitsu magazine for the “Schwarzelt Investigation Correspondence Report” cover, which has the same size as the magazine. The back cover has a Demonic helmet made of cardboard which can be cut off.

The July 20, 2017 issue of Famitsu—or issue #1492—will be released in Japan on July 6, 2017.

Anniversary Limited Edition

Additionally, in commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the series, there has been announcement of plans to release a first production limited edition “Shin Megami Tensei: Deep Strange Journey SMT 25th Inauguration Special Box” with a number of bundled items that will make fans drool. Details are scheduled to be released on July 6, 2017 (pre-orders will begin as soon as each store is ready on the same day).

Live Stream

On July 9, 2017 at 7:30 PM JST (3:30 AM PDT / 6:30 AM EDT), there will be a live stream on Niconico celebrating the release date announcement. The latest footage and game information will be shown during the broadcast.

Also, news regarding the Shin Megami Tensei 25th anniversary is teased.

Live Stream Details

  • Date: July 9, 2017
  • Time:
    • 7:30 PM JST (3:30 AM PDT / 6:30 AM EDT): Megaten radio (pre-show)
    • 8:00 PM JST (4:00 AM PDT / 7:00 AM EDT): Main Program
  • Live Stream Link: Niconico

Cast

Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey Redux will be released for the Nintendo 3DS in Japan, on October 26, 2017. It will release in North America and Europe in early 2018.

Famitsu

  • Strain42

    Excited to see what goodies are coming with that special edition and VERY excited to see some new demon artwork. Looks like we’ll have both soon.